Their Shoes #31

Never give-up hope, an reach out for help!

myowncalcuttablog.com

Sonya received her shoes from the shelter. She was sitting alone and keeping to herself when I sat down to talk to her.

What is your biggest struggle with poverty on a daily basis?

“Shelter. I have no place of my own. I was in an apartment but I had to move out. Things were bad for me there. I’m staying at the mission right now. It’s not too bad, actually. There’s probably less than a dozen women like me, sleeping in bunk beds. I have no family here that I can rely on. They’re all in Quebec and America.”

What would you like people to know about living in poverty?

“It can happen to me. It can happen to you. I was in what I thought was a loving relationship. I moved here to Windsor to be with him; I am away from every member of my family. Then…

View original post 209 more words

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

